“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

This is why I love Narnia so much: because of the redemption!

Thimblerig's Ark

Art by Jonathan Mayer Art by Jonathan Mayer

I just took my fifth grade students for a voyage on the Dawn Treader, and I have to confess something that might be shocking to those who are familiar with what I consider to be the best book in the series.

I love Eustace Scrubb.

Yes, he is irritating, shrill, mean-spirited, spiteful, and if I had I had a student like Scrubb in my fifth grade class, I would likely duct-tape him to the wall even if it cost me my job. He might just be the most infuriating young character in all of children’s literature, but God help me, I love the kid, and have for a long time.

There. I’ve said it, and I feel better.

scan0003kk6There was a boy called Eustace Clarence Scrubb, and he almost deserved it. His parents called him Eustace Clarence and his masters called Scrubb. I can’t tell you…

View original post 1,375 more words

Comments on: "The Redemption of Eustace Scrubb" (11)

  1. Redemption really is a common theme through the whole series. Edmund, Aravis, Eustace, Jill, Puzzle, the young Kelorman. Lewis truly knew how to write about forgiveness and mercy in a splendid way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. (The Witches’ Sleep is on your TBR! That’s an awesome one. 😉 )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Lux Christi

The Light of Christ illumines All

Great Books for God's Girls

Encouraging Christian Girls to Read Excellent Books

hannahphora

Reviews and writing thoughts from a Christian 20-something

L.M. Fry

Amazon Bestselling Teen Steampunk Author

The Loquacious Bibliophile

Confessions of a bibliophile and aspiring authoress

