“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

image
When the Lady Dragon does come,
Hold fast, do not fear, do not run.
Your Water Princess will fight,
Fire Prince will set all to right.
Each shall come from a Fall,
Their union will save you all.

Despite the fact that she’s on track for competing in the Olympics, and he’s practically raised his younger brothers since they lost their mom in a car accident, Clara Mandras and Andrew Stevenson are pretty much normal teens. They have normal hopes, normal dreams, and they live in a normal world.
All this is torn away from them when they are thrust into another world and declared Water Princess and Fire Prince. With no experience ruling a country, meeting each other for the first time, and being expected to fight the Lady Dragon – an evil sorceress plaguing the world of Rizkaland – Clara and Andrew are underprepared and inexperienced. Unless they learn to work together despite their standing opposition, Rizkaland’s hope will be lost.

What is to come will change their lives forever.

image

6f4ba-goodreads

 

And now for an exciting interview with the author! 

 

Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi! I’m a twenty-year-old author of seven books, I’ve been homeschooled my whole life, am the eldest of four, and I enjoy knitting.

 

Of all the books you’ve written, which is your favorite?

At the moment, that award goes to Water Princess, Fire Prince. I’m rather proud of that hefty collection of words.

 

What is your favorite genre to read? To write?

Fantasy on both accounts, predominately Fairy Tale Retellings and Christian. 

 

How did you come up with the title for Water Princess, Fire Prince?

From the moment I came up with the idea, I knew I wanted the title of the main character as the book’s title. However, for the longest time, I was confused and thought it was Waterfall Princess. My mom set me straight, and I never looked back.

 

What is your current WIP?

I have three that I’m currently focusing on:
The Sequel: Which takes place about a thousand years after Water Princess, Fire Prince, and has a completely different cast. It was also one of the first books I ever wrote, so I’m rather excited about this one.

Poison Kiss: My entry for the Five Magic Spindles contest. Basically, I’m shaking it up with reversing the kiss and spinning wheel’s role and tossing in Puss in Boots.

And Sew We Take The Kingdom: An Anthology of Bookania. This involves revising Sew, and writing one and half short stories, and writing book 3.5.

 

When did you start writing? What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve been making up stories since before I understood the concept, and so when I learned to write, it was the most natural thing in the world for me to begin pouring those stories onto the page. And since I was homeschooled, and I have a very smart mother, she put a lot of writing into my curriculum. I can’t say for certain what my first book was, but a genderswapped retelling of “Rumplestilskin” sticks out in my mind.

 

What authors/books have inspired you most?

C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and L. Frank Baum.

 

Which author would you most like to meet in person (living or dead)?

Miss Jack Lewis Baillot. This is mostly because we’re working on writing a book together and it’d be really cool if we could sit down and talk about it in person.

 

Random preference questions:
     a) Morning or night? Depends on my mood. Some days I want to burn the midnight oil, other days I’m all system’s go by six in the morning.
     b) Moon or stars? Moon. I actually have a rocket ship and make regular trips.
     c) Favorite food? Spaghetti.
     d) Favorite movie? The Nutcracker ballet – almost any version.
     e) Favorite genre of:
          i) Movie? Fantasy
          ii) Music? Country, Classics, Christian

 

Is there a little known fact about you or your books that you’d like to share with us?

Um … Ooh – in Water Princess, Fire Prince, there’s a mildly important elf named Dular. In the first draft, it was Zindar. However, when I reached his character in the second draft, Dular was the name at the top of my head.

It wasn’t until a few months later that I realized where the name came from – it’s the name of a character’s missing father in one of the WIP’s I have sitting on my back burner, Half-Hidden.

 

Thank you so much, Kendra! I greatly enjoyed this! 

 

imageKendra E. Ardnek loves fairy tales and twisting them in new and exciting ways. She’s been practicing her skills on her dozen plus cousins and siblings for years, “Finish your story, Kendra”, is frequently heard at family gatherings. Her sole life goal has always been to grow up and be an author of fantasy and children’s tales that also glorify God and his Word. You can read more about her on her blog, knittedbygodsplan.blogspot.com.

 

Part 1’s first chapter
Part 2’s first chapter

 

Free Books!
31st-4th
Sew, It’s a Quest 
Do You Take This Quest? 
31st ONLY
My Kingdom for a Quest
1st – 5th
The Ankulen
CinderEddy
Saffron’s Big Plan

 

And check out this exciting sneak peek! 

So Andrew picked the sword back up, but this time didn’t lift it over his head. He held it awkwardly at about waist-height.
“Always respect your sword,” Abraham said, solemnly. “For it is not only your weapon, but also your defense. You just committed the simplest and most dangerous mistakes a person can make – you left your whole body exposed.”
“I didn’t expect you to attack me,” Andrew countered.
“Ah! So there your mistake began,” said Abraham. “Never assume that a man won’t attack you, especially if you can see that he has a sword. And even if you cannot see that he is armed, still, do not relax. You never know who your enemy is.”
“So you’re telling me not to trust anyone?”
“I’m telling you to not let your guard down at any time.”
And then without warning, Abraham attacked Andrew again, and the sword was again knocked from Andrew’s hand and went flying clear across the clearing.
“But I wasn’t ready!” Andrew protested.
He noticed Abraham’s raised eyebrow and scampered over to get the sword again.
“And what did I just tell you?” asked Abraham. “Stay on guard at all times.”
Andrew picked the sword back up. “I’ve never held a sword before in my life, and you’re expecting me to know how to ‘stay on guard!’”

Comments on: "Water Princess, Fire Prince blog tour, post #2: Interview" (11)

  1. Great interview! I enjoyed reading it!
    Oh, and Kendra, your Sleeping Beauty story sounds very cool. *nods*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Waterfall Princess! Oh, but that’s a mouthful! And would she have power of waterfalls? Cool, but not nearly as convenient as water. 🙂

    On the other hand, Waterfall Princess, Firefall Prince could be a neat name, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome interview! I hope to sometime read Poison Kiss, though I really hope that I win the Five Spindles…. Anyways, if you wouldn’t mind letting me borrow your rocket ship… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like your review! It’s one of those fun ones that covers it all. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. And Sew We Take The Kingdom sounds interesting. So that’s what book 3.5 is about. I wondered.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Great Books for God's Girls

Encouraging Christian Girls to Read Excellent Books

hannahphora

Reviews and writing thoughts from a Christian 20-something

L.M. Fry

Amazon Bestselling Teen Steampunk Author

The Loquacious Bibliophile

Confessions of a bibliophile and aspiring authoress

Reveries

a state of being pleasantly lost in one's thoughts; a daydream.

The Home of Author C. M. Williams

You're never too old to believe in fairytales.

Embers reviews

Good fiction that won't get you burned!

Fables Library

Books :) 'nuff said

A Heart Redeemed

The Discourse of a Christian Writer

Through The Reading Glass

I just want to make beautiful things even if nobody cares

Darrick Dean

Find your Purpose. Find your Story.

teenmusing

observations and anecdotes on art, humans, and life

writefury

A mixed up blog about a lot of different stuff

Kerry Johnson

Author, Dreamer, Reader, Believer

furious ever afters

storytellers // world changers

From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

From Aspiring Writer to Published Author

Writing in the Light

Writing exciting and inspiring Christian fiction

Uncommon Universes Press LLC

Be New. Be Bold. Be Uncommon.

Lungs of the Willow

Planting seeds, growing gardens, unearthing hearts.

Writing a World

The Musings of Rose Lawson

Jayci Paige

"I am a little pencil in the hand of a writing God who is sending a love letter to the world." - Mother Teresa

Penprints

God. Life. Writing. Reading.

Suzy Vadori

Young Adult Author

The Page Dreamer

Dreaming of Ink and Pages and Bookshelves

readinganyone

I'm too good for a tagline ... oh wait

The Jumping Bean

A Writing Blog

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Life. Blogger, Author, and Book-lover

Curious Wren

bookish chats - life glimpses - story percolations - a generous dash of imagination

Nadine Brandes

Fusing authentic faith and bold imagination

Spiral-Bound

CREATING WORLDS WITH INK, PAPER, AND 26 LETTERS

awkwardlyartistic

Just an introverted teenager, making her way through life one awkward moment at a time.

Print Quest

A place for book reviews, reader vibes, and literary persiflage

The Book Boulevard

Be creative. Be critical. Be compassionate.

Faith & Fantasy Alliance

The official blog of Realm Makers, the only symposium for people of faith who love speculative fiction

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

