“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

A Wish Made Of GlassA Wish Made Of Glass by Ashlee Willis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


A Wish Made of Glass

Deep in a forest glade, the fey folk dance with a young human child. Their kinship is the fabric of Isidore’s childhood. But when her mother dies and her world darkens with sorrow, Isidore finds her belief in the fey folk wavering.

The love of her new step-sister, Blessing, proves an unexpected gift in her time of need. Yet even as their friendship blooms, Isidore begins to see that Blessing is everything she herself has always wanted to be, but is not. Jealousy grips Isidore as she watches this beautiful new sister steal away all she holds dear.

Driven to desperation, Isidore turns to the fey folk once more. She has only one wish to claim from them, one chance to make things right. But she must tread carefully. For wishes, like hearts, are easily broken. And obtaining the one thing she desires could mean destroying the one thing she truly needs.
(Blurb from Goodreads)

A Wish Made of Glass is a beautifully written novella that captured my heart!
The characters were very well-developed for such a short book. They each had a distinct personality, and they stayed true to that throughout the book. I loved them all!
The plot was also well done. It was a bit predictable, but I still enjoyed every moment of it! There were enough times that I was unsure how it was all going to play out, that it kept me interested and constantly wanting to know more.
Overall, I loved this book! I loved the mystical aspect of the fey, and the whole premise of the glass shoes was fascinating. I think I would have enjoyed reading it more if I hadn’t been expecting there to be more of a Cinderella feel to it. I wouldn’t even call it a Cinderella retelling. Inspired by, maybe, but not a retelling. I liked that it was original, and not just another Cinderella story. Very well done!

Would I recommend it? Yes
What age would I recommend it for? I’d say it’s appropriate for any age. Light romance, no swearing, and no violence. It’s written like a true fairytale!
Would I read the other books by this author? Yes!

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.
Visit the author

View all my reviews on Goodreads
More reviews here

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Lux Christi

The Light of Christ illumines All

Great Books for God's Girls

Encouraging Christian Girls to Read Excellent Books

hannahphora

Reviews and writing thoughts from a Christian 20-something

L.M. Fry

Amazon Bestselling Teen Steampunk Author

The Loquacious Bibliophile

Confessions of a bibliophile and aspiring authoress

