“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

Conception (Future Savior, #1)Conception by Jennifer Hartz
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Conception

“I do not think it is a question of where, but when.” were the words that Charis left my mother with thirty years ago when I disappeared from Meric . . . before I was born.

Shortly after being sent back I’ve been attacked by man-eating Vaipes. I’ve learned that my father was a power wielding Guardian. I’ve discovered that the silvery-blue eyes intriguing me my entire life belong to my Watcher, Shaw who is without a doubt the most handsome man I have ever seen. And somehow I need to stop a war mongering tyrant who can manipulate people’s thoughts.

So my question isn’t where or when. It is how? How can I help the people of Meric when I can’t stop myself from falling in love?
(Blurb from Goodreads)

Conception was an interesting read set in a beautiful fantasy world.

Characters

I thought the characters were pretty good. They were well developed and were all pretty lovable. There was one character that I didn’t care for, but the rest were portrayed well.

Plot

The plot was very exciting. There was a lot of foreshadowing, which really makes me want to read the next one. The action was relatively fast-paced, and I enjoyed the battle scenes.

Overall thoughts

I really enjoyed this book. It has an exciting storyline, and the descriptions were lovely. I was appalled, however, by the apparent lack of any editing whatsoever. There were so many typos and misuses of words that it really distracted from what would have otherwise been a good book. I would like to advise anyone who is writing a book, please edit!

Would I recommend it? Yes, if you can get over the grammatical errors
Would I let my kids read it? Yes
Would I read the other books in the series? Yes, if only to find out what happens!

Overall Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

Visit the author

View all my reviews on Goodreads
More reviews here

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Lux Christi

The Light of Christ illumines All

Great Books for God's Girls

Encouraging Christian Girls to Read Excellent Books

hannahphora

Reviews and writing thoughts from a Christian 20-something

L.M. Fry

Amazon Bestselling Teen Steampunk Author

The Loquacious Bibliophile

Confessions of a bibliophile and aspiring authoress

