“Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world.” ― Voltaire

Unknown SenderUnknown Sender by Ryan Lanz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Unknown Sender

Jessica’s world revolves around studying at college and affording prepackaged meals, which leaves little time for socializing. In fact, she is quite content without being noticed, which only makes the attention of a mystery texter all the more unwanted.

She isn’t unfamiliar with strange advances, but this is something entirely different. This person knows things about her. Things beyond just an average stalker.

Even after all that, Jessica would be much more content to forget than discover who is chasing her, electronically or otherwise. Eventually, she finds out that she can’t outrun her past.
(Blurb from Goodreads)

 

This was my first time reading horror. I think I may have stumbled upon an awesome genre!

Characters

Because it is a short story, the characters were not very well developed. I didn’t notice anything jarring in their personalities.

Plot

The plot was good, albeit I think it should have been drawn out a little more. There wasn’t much time for suspense. I liked the twist at the end, though.

Overall thoughts

I really liked it. It drew me in, and made me want to know who the mysterious texter was. I would have liked it better if had been a little longer, so there was more suspense. But it was fine.

Would I recommend it? Yes, to 15+ for slightly suggestive content, and because it’s horror
Would I let my kids read it? Yes, when they’re 15+
Would I read the other books by this author? Yes

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for a professional review. All opinions are my own.

Visit the author

View all my reviews on Goodreads
More reviews here

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Lux Christi

The Light of Christ illumines All

Great Books for God's Girls

Encouraging Christian Girls to Read Excellent Books

hannahphora

Reviews and writing thoughts from a Christian 20-something

L.M. Fry

Amazon Bestselling Teen Steampunk Author

The Loquacious Bibliophile

Confessions of a bibliophile and aspiring authoress

